ACTFL Celebrates Achievement in Language Education
illi News/10248428

ALEXANDRIA, Va., Nov. 17, 2023 ~ On Friday, November 17th, the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) and Language Connects Foundation (LCF) presented their annual Professional Awards in Chicago as part of the ACTFL 2023 Annual Convention & World Languages Expo. This year's ceremony included two new awards, the ACTFL/LCF Award for Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in the Classroom, and the LCF/Klett Award for Sustainable Development in the World Language Classroom.

The Leo Benardo Award for Innovation in K-12 Language Education was presented to Vesna Dimitrieska from University of Indiana-Bloomington. The ACTFL-NFMLTA/MLJ Emma Marie Birkmaier Award for Doctoral Dissertation Research in World Language Education was awarded to Ye Shen from The Ohio State University. Rebekah Bray Rankin from Lexington High School, MA received the Nelson Brooks Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Culture. Mathieu Ausseil from French For All was honored with the Edwin Cudecki Award for Support for Language Education.

The ACTFL/LCF Award for Excellence in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in the Classroom was presented to Daniel Verdugo from Huron High School, MI. The Global Engagement Initiative Award was granted to three programs: The Chinese Program at University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire accepted by Kaishan Kong; Advanced Spanish Service Learning: Migration, Asylum, and Human Rights at the Border accepted by Vivian Brates from Stanford University (CA); and Glocal Engagement: The Critical Virtual Exchange and Linguistic Landscape Fieldwork accepted by Liling Huang from Boston University (MA) and University of Buffalo (NY).

More on illi News
The LCF/Klett Award for Sustainable Development Education in the World Language Classroom was awarded to Kathleen Forrester from University of Michigan; Heidi Lechner from Libertyville High School, IL; and The Global Classroom Project in Fairfax County Public Schools VA accepted by Beatrix Preusse-Burr and Andrea Martin-Jones. Kelly Arispe from Boise State University ID received the ACTFL-NYSAFLT Anthony Papalia Award for Excellence in Teacher Education. Oana Costache from Dutch Center for Language Education; Eva S Becker from University of Cologne (Germany); and Thomas Goetz from University of Vienna Austria were honored with the ACTFL-NFMLTA/MLJ Paul Pimsleur Award for Research in World Language Education.

Aleidine (Ali) Moeller from University of Nebraska-Lincoln received the Wilga Rivers Award for Leadership in World Language Education (Postsecondary). Mark Linsky from Savannah-Chatham County Public School System GA was granted with Florence Steiner Award for Leadership in World Language Education (K-12). Chrissy Roe Spain Park High School AL won ACTFL/IALLT Award for Excellence in World Language Instruction Using Technology (K-12). Bobby Hobgood at University of North Carolina Charlotte earned ACTFL/Cengage/IALLT Postsecondary Award for Excellence in World Language Instruction Using Technology. Lastly, Metropolitan School District of Lawrence Township IN accepted by Shawn Smith Superintendent MSD Lawrence Township IN won Melba D Woodruff award Exemplary Elementary World Language Program.

More on illi News
The ceremony also included remarks by past president Victoria Russell as well as acknowledgment of 2023 Research Priorities Grants recipients and presentation of 2023 NNELL award Outstanding Support Early Second language Learning as well as Dr Patricia Pattie Davis Wiley award given by language learning children special interest groups.

The call nominations including self nominations will reopen Spring 2024 so interested parties can learn more about ACTFL & LCF Professional Awards program then submit their applications accordingly.
Filed Under: Business

Show All News | Report Violation


Latest on illi News